What is ITIL V4 Foundation certification?






In the world of IT Service Management(ITSM), IT services require an organization to evolve with the technology. Most often, the IT service needs to be handled in a different manner as compared to normal business operations. IT projects face different challenges, and they require patience and smart work as an effective approach. There are also times when business goals require fast delivery of services and technical issues require their time. In such a way, their misalignment creates problems. That is why modern frameworks like ITIL are a great way to deal with this situation.

ITIL refers to the IT infrastructure library, which is a set of practices to deliver the best services. These practices are aimed at delivering that at IT Service management. ITIL 4 is the updated version of its previous one (i.e., ITIL version 3). It was updated by AXELOS in February 2019. It added more features for its flexibility, maintaining agility and innovation at ITSM. While they were also continuing with the legacy of maintaining networks and systems. Popular companies like IBM, HSBC, and NASA have been known to Implement ITIL. the best thing about ITIL is that it can be coupled with other frameworks like TOGAF, Six Sigma, COBIT, ISO 20000, etc.

The IT infrastructure library helps to build a scalable IT environment, reduce costs, manage risks, and, as a result, efficient solutions are developed. Here, in the rest of the article, we will go through the ITIL 4 Foundation certification in-depth and explain why one must pursue it.

ITIL 4 Foundation Certification

The ITIL 4 certification process has 3 different certifications in its subcategories. The initial level is the Foundation certification. Thereafter, you will be offered to choose among the two next paths. one is a Managing Professional, and the other one is a strategic leader. However, here in this article, we will focus on the ITIL foundation certification in detail.

The ITIL 4 Foundation Certification introduces you to an end-to-end operating model for creating, delivering, and continually improving technology-enabled products and services.

Anyone who wishes to learn ITIL 4  and apply its services in their workplace can take this up. It is absolutely perfect for beginners as well. By the end of this course, you will be able to understand:

  • How the IT and digital service organizations operate in the modern world?
  • Importance of value streams in increasing speed and efficiency.
  • Impact of cultural or behavioral principles in guiding the work.
  • Applications of service management terms and concepts.

The areas in which the ITIL framework deals are:

General Management Practices:

Architectural management, continual improvement, information security management, knowledge management, measuring and reporting, etc.

Technical management practices:

Deployment management, Infrastructure and platform management, software development & Management.

Service management practices:

Business analysis, Service design, service level management, incident management, IT asset management, etc.

The ITIL certification firstly requires you to take up training to learn the topics. The best way to learn is to go through the accredited training partners in your region. All of these partners have course materials aligned with the syllabus of the certification. And they have authorized access, which makes them trustworthy.

The topics covered in ITIL certification are briefed below:

  • Key concepts of service management also include value creation and service relationships
  • The four dimensions of Service Management
  • The ITIL service value system includes guiding principles and the service value chains
  • 7 key ITIL practices

The ITIL certification exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions. The time duration of the exam is 60 minutes. The candidate needs to score at least 26 out of 40 marks(26%) to pass the examination.

The certification cost to appear is  £295.00, which is approximately 25.5k INR for citizens residing in India.

Benefits of ITIL Certifications

  • An individual learns how to align IT with Business
  • Enhancing the services to better meet the needs of customers
  • Improving the quality of IT services you deliver
  • Better Software Development Lifecycle due to the reduced costs, resources, and lesser time
  • Achieving customer satisfaction
  • Uplifting Staff morale

Not just an organization benefits from the ITIL Framework, but an individual too. When he gets certified by ITIL 4 Foundation, he automatically gets recognition in the world. After all, the certification itself is proof of the skills and abilities. And therefore, they are able to attain attractive job opportunities and salary packages from different companies. This makes the candidate strong in his foundational principles. If he wishes, he can further upgrade their career to ITIL Managing Leader and ITIL Strategic Leader.


From the above-mentioned benefits, it is clear that organizations today are willing to evolve with technology. One great thing about ITIL is that it aligns the IT services team and the business teamwork in alignment. As such, they are able to deliver efficient solutions. So the initial step is to acquire the foundational certificate. Please take up a course from the accredited training provider, so that you learn all the skills well enough.

Share this


A Look Back at the Early Career of Miralem Pjanić

Miralem Pjanić is one of the world’s most celebrated footballers, having been a member of some of Europe’s most karinnews prestigious clubs, including Juventus...

Need legal help for your injury claim? Check these details

Nothing is scarier than getting injured in a mishap that wasn’t your fault. Personal injury claims are innately convoluted as the claimant is expected...

Recent articles


More like this